Audio-only mode instead of renderless and muted?

General support questions (e.g. question about device support problems or general application features/workings).

Audio-only mode instead of renderless and muted?

Postby WGschalk » Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:35 pm

Hello!

In renderless mode there is no video and no audio.
Is there a way to have an audio-only mode?

On a system with no hardware acceleration for hevc/h.265 the German DVB-T2 HD with hevc/h.265 is a problem. Watching TV in SmartDVB is possible, but brings the CPU up to 95% usage and above.
So now I use SmartDVB for recording only in renderless mode, and playback the files on a receiver-box, or with SMPlayer (MPV-based) which seemes to be the less CPU-consuming Player for hevc-videos.
But sometimes it would nice to hear at least the audio in SmartDVB, without stressing the CPU with the hevc-video-decoding.

I have not found a way to switch to an audio-only mode.
If not implemented: Could it be a feature in future versions?

Thanks
WGschalk / Werner
WGschalk
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 4:06 pm

Re: Audio-only mode instead of renderless and muted?

Postby VictorLS » Fri Oct 12, 2018 5:34 pm

WGschalk wrote:Is there a way to have an audio-only mode?

I've asked author to implement this: right-click on video and press Renderless Video.
But it's a pity it often doesn't decrease CPU usage so I propose you use Russian's Elecard (or prefer Mainconcept x64) HEVC Video Decoder - app SmartDVB is one I know well work with that decoders - and in case of Mainconcept x64 run such reg to set SkipPB=decode I-(IDR-)frames only:
--------------
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MainConcept\MainConcept HEVC Video Decoder\SmartDVB.exe]
"Quality"=dword:00000000
"Hardware acceleration"=dword:00000000
---------------
Besides Mainconcept x64 is faster than LAV Video Decoder (I asked German author nevcairiel do skipping frames many times here http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=156191 but he didn't want to add this useful feature) - may be SkipB or even SkipNone will be enough in your case.
Last edited by VictorLS on Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Russian Crimea, 1200х1100 on SMR-1224:103E-30W Ku cir, Ku, С cir
Athlon II x3 460, 690V, 4GB, 0,5(SSD)+2+4TB, GTX750v2 GM206 1GB (h265 4:2:0 4K 10bit 60Hz hardware acceleration), RemoteWonder, Win7x64sp1, Omicom S2 PCI, TBS 5520SE USB; GI HD Micro Plus
VictorLS
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:27 am

Re: Audio-only mode instead of renderless and muted?

Postby VictorLS » Sun Nov 18, 2018 4:57 am

Thanks to clever Russian guy Alexsoid1978 - he did special version of MPC Video Decoder with "Skip non Intra frames" in Properties MPCVideoDec_skip_non_I-frames.7z (7,2MB) https://yadi.sk/d/ZBA-K2-6UUV4TQ so even 20200905-003746_TURKSAT_8K.ts (528 MB) https://yadi.sk/d/rZspTqX3IyXnNw h265 8K 50fps 4:2:0 ~85Mbit/s video plays good slideshow (~1 frame in some seconds) on my old 3-core Athlon II x3 460 without hardware acceleration with my GM206-based videocard can't accelerate 8K at all (can only 4K) and I can see TURKSAT_8K channel from 42e directly when video present there - often just empty 0x1fff transponder - at the end of October 2020 signal is gone https://www.flysat.com/8k.php
Russian Crimea, 1200х1100 on SMR-1224:103E-30W Ku cir, Ku, С cir
Athlon II x3 460, 690V, 4GB, 0,5(SSD)+2+4TB, GTX750v2 GM206 1GB (h265 4:2:0 4K 10bit 60Hz hardware acceleration), RemoteWonder, Win7x64sp1, Omicom S2 PCI, TBS 5520SE USB; GI HD Micro Plus
VictorLS
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:27 am


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron