SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Here you can report any bugs/problems you encounter

SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:54 pm

Hi,

I noticed that SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits when it is reduced some time.

Never the same duration but for example, it can be reduced for 2h then it leaves like 8h without ever leaving it.

I open it on the PC, then I watch via an Android box, so off the PC, and this leaves on its own. Even during recordings it leaves (case had Friday evening for a recording of 5h, after about 3h30 it is leaving without I have the end of the series aired on TV).

I do not know if its come from my PC or the software, but the bug this almost reproduces every day.

Edit: The bug just reproduced in recording, the software held 1h40 before leaving, without any error message.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:04 am

Hi,

By reduced you mean minimized, or minimized to tray icon? Otherwise, if not reduced, this doesn't happen? What do you see at the end of smartdvb.log after such an exit? Are you using any plugins? What os are you using?

Br
jj
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:23 am

Hi,

Minimized to tray icon.

Not reduced, I rarely use it, I will throw it in non reduit, and let it spin in the background.

Nothing abnormal in the log. Here is the full copy: http://pastebin.com/LiwXhgN4

I have plugins to do test, but not use (I just delete them, good opportunity to delete them).

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:14 am

Hi,

The logs look suspect, since i don't a clean exit at the end and nothing else seems to be going on logwise. What is your operating system (64 or 32 bit, how much memory)? Often when there's not even a crash report, or some windows exception message at exit it can be external code that fails, codecs or plugins, but the codecs and plugins i see seem nothing out of the ordinary so still odd. You remember having such an exit before testing with plugins?

Best regards
jj
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:40 am

Hi,

Windows 10 64-bit with 32 GB of RAM.

The pluggins were installed before the RC2 and I had never had this bug.

I have been using the software since version 0.5.0.11 RC.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:26 am

Hi

Might you be using the http streaming perhaps more now? Were you also streaming while it exited?

Br
Jj
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:27 pm

Hi,

Yes before I was not using HTTP streaming, but yesterday I was not in HTTP streaming when it left. By cons on Friday I was in HTTP when he left.

Since last night, the software runs for more than 8h, it is not quit (mode not minimize), I just put it in minimize to tray to see if it bug (plugin always remove).

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:04 pm

Hi,

Ok interesting to know, i myself don't test much mininized or minimized to tray , so if this remains like that for you I'll see what might be happening with the minimized to tray mode. When you look at the app after some time being minimized to tray, do you see increased memory usage for example?

Thanks for your report, can i send you a pm with test builds if i find something?

Best regards,
jj
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:11 pm

Hi,

Minimize from around 1h, SmartDVB use 108MB of RAM, on other days I have noticed excessive use of RAM.

Of course, you can send me test builds, if I can help improve your software it is with great pleasure.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:13 pm

Hi,

My coding time is too limited to run such lengthy test a lot, so if you can verify it a bit more to make sure this doesn't happen when non minimized i'd appreciate it. If it doesn't reoccur even when minimized it might be plugin related :(. When you had that excessive ram usage, this was on HD channels or normal SD and only seems to happen when minimized or minimized to tray as far as you can see, never in normal, non minimized mode? Does not seem to depend on decoder or renderer used?

best regards
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:39 pm

Hi,

At the moment no bug. 78 MB RAM usage with 3.8 to 4.5% CPU usage (AMD FX 8300) with an SD TV channel (Minimize on tray).

On an HD TV channel, I turn to the 200 MB of RAM with 11.5 to 12 CPU usage (Minimize on tray).

On a 4k TV channel, I run about 780MB with 73 to 81% CPU usage (Minimize on tray).

The bug is produced, SD (MPEG-2) and HD (MPEG-4). For the TV channel 4k, I could not do a long test, because my PC does not follow the pace.

The bug is also already produced in Rendeless mode, I do not think its come from video rendering, level codec, I use LAV, as for my DVB-T tuner (under Pouchin TV Mod).

In normal mode, this night no bugs, currently minimize on tray, and do not bug. I wonder if it's not a plugin that has to create the bug. I let it run all day.

Test on:

- SD TV Channel: RTS Un, Video: MPEG-2 720*576, Audio: MP2 192 kbps 2.0
- HD TV Channel: Discovery Investigation, Video: MPEG-4 1920*1080, Audio: AC3 384 kbps 5.1
- 4k TV Channel: SFR Sport 4K, Video: HEVC 3840*2160, Audio: AC3 256 kbps 2.0

Mediainfo possible on request.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:58 pm

Hi,

Ok then. Still strange that you didn't see with with the previous versions. Perhaps you're using the app more intensive now and didn't notice it then?

best regards,
jj
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:53 pm

Hi,

Yes I use it more intensively. After the plugins were installed a few days before the move to the new version, possible that there was already this bug, but as at that moment, I was still in testing period of the software, it was not open all the time , Between the members of the family who watch in HTTP streaming (since we have to settle the worries), and the beginning of serial transmission on TV channels of the cable.

For the moment no bug, since noon the software is open and it is 7:50 pm, always open (minimize on tray) and its running well, I leave the software open to test this night, see what its given (always minimize on tray ). This evening there is also a recording, so a test in optimal working condition.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:48 am

Hi

Interested to know how the test went. Perhaps no seperate test is needed then. Do you also have, or will you have in some near future, dvb-t2 in your country with different plp t2 streams?

Best regards
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:22 pm

Hi,

No bug, the software runs since the 1st test (without being exited either automatically or manually), it was probably a plugin that put the bug.

In France the DVB-T2 is in test on Paris and Rennes for well 4 years, but still no national plan to deploy it. More information: http://www.csa.fr/Espace-juridique/Deci ... our-Eiffel (french).

On the other hand I live near the German border, which will soon have the DVB-T2 (March 29), however it will be of the HEVC but in HD (1920 * 1080) no Ultra HD. More information: http://www.dvb-t2hd.de/englisch (english or german).

But I do not have DVB-T2 compatible tuner.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:50 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the information. Would be interesting to know how long such a run can hold up, memory footage is still the same? I already read about Germany, also have seen reports that the app works with the right tuner for German DVB-T2, but didn't know about France.

I also don't have a DVB-T2 capable tuner, cannot receive any T2 here, also not in the foreseeable future (besides perhaps some sat T2 streams, but that's not the same).

Best regards and thanks for reporting this, i'm sure other users find such information also helpful.
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:09 pm

Hi,

With pleasure.

Currently SD (not change since last night), 184 MB of RAM, an increase of 106 MB of RAM (yesterday I was 78 MB).

For Germany, yes you have to be a German resident to be able to pay with the pay channels, but the free ones will be accessible, currently in DVB-T I pick up a German channel TV channel with a radio antenna and via cable, (DVB-C mode and DVB-T via cable). (15 with a radio antenna, 12 with cable DVB-T, 11 with cable DVB-C)

For France, on the site http://www.digitalbitrate.com there is the antenna of Paris which do the tests (more precise on this page: http://www.digitalbitrate.com/dtv.php?l ... n&mux=HEVC).

If you need me for another test, notify me, I will organize to launch these tests.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:03 pm

Hi,

Currently SD (not change), 189 MB of RAM, an increase of 4 MB of RAM (yesterday I was 184 MB).

In my opinion, we are arriving at the limit of the RAM use not the software for an SD TV channel.

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby SmartDVB » Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:44 pm

Hi,

Ok, thanks. Yes i would agree ram usage might increase due to basic app usage liks SmartOSD or epg searching etc. So this might be normal or small leakage outside of the main channel changing video/stream path. This is with continual channel changes?

Best regards
jj
SmartDVB
Site Admin
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:18 am

Re: SmartDVB 0.5.0 RC2 self-exits, bug ?

Postby Europe12 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:04 pm

Hi,

This test is without change of TV channel, so stay on the same TV channel SD, without touching the software, save a recording on Monday (same channel, scheduler).

Br.
Europe12
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:22 pm
Location: France


Return to Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron